WVU will be discontinuing its involvement with undergraduate students in the Academic Common Market beginning in the Summer 2020 semester.

The Academic Common Market is a tuition assistance program that offersin-state tuition to students who are from states where a degree program they are pursuing doesn’t exist. 

WVU announced last week it will stop accepting undergraduate students from the Academic Common Market in after the Spring 2020 semester. The University will continue to accept graduate students in the program, however.

The program does not accept students for professional degree programs.

The Academic Common Market currently has 13 fully participating states, including West Virginia. Texas and Florida are the only other states that accept graduate students through the program and not undergraduate students.

The other participating states include:

  • Alabama
  • Delaware
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Oklahoma
  • Tennessee
  • Arkansas
  • Georgia
  • Louisiana
  • South Carolina
  • Virginia

News Editor

Joe Severino is a senior Journalism major from Elkins, West Virginia. He is the News Editor for The Daily Athenaeum and interned with the Charleston Gazette-Mail summer 2018.